books

“Shatter Me” by Tahereh Mafi Spoiler Free Book-talk

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Book-Talk

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Page Count: 329

Published: November 15, 2011

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian Fiction

Summary:

Shatter Me is the first book of a Young Adult Dystopian Fiction series by Tahereh Mafi. The story follows a 17 year old girl, Juliette. When we meet her, Juliette is locked up for her lethal touch. Nobody knows how or why her touch is powerful. A movement called “The Reestablishment” intends to use her as a weapon for their cause. 

My Thoughts:

I think readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this story. Juliette is a fantastic protagonist that you can truly root for. The writing makes her feel very relatable— like you are truly getting a glimpse into her mind. Throughout the book, the author has words and phrases crossed out as Juliette edits her thoughts. This unique writing style captured my interest from the first page. I have heard rumors of a TV show adaptation for the book and I can see that being widely successful. As I was reading the book, I could picture it making the perfect movie. 

Shatter Me is the first of a long series. While I liked reading the book, I don’t know when I will get around to the rest of the books and novellas.

Have you read the Shatter Me series? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s