books

5 Best Books I Read in all of 2022

Top 5 Books I Read in 2022

In 2022, I surpassed my goal of reading 50 books in a year. Out of the 52 books I ended up reading, there was a handful that stood out to me the most. Here are five books I read in 2022 that I would highly recommend to anybody:

  1. The Second Time Around by Mary Higgins Clark

This book was my absolute favorite book of the year. I found it sitting on my shelf one day and decided to give it a try. The story follows a journalist covering a story of a man who manipulated people into giving him money under the guise that it would be used for medical research. When the man is revealed to be missing— his plane is wrecked, but no body has been found. It was an entertaining book that is perfect for anybody who loves mysteries. 

  1. Atomic Habits by James Clear

If you are looking for a self-help book, I would recommend Atomic Habits. This book is packed full of useful information and tips to making goals and following through with them. I actually listened to the audio book of this, but I would recommend reading a physical copy if you can. 

  1. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

For fans of Marvel and Thor in particular, this is the book for you. Neil Gaiman illustrates the Norse Myths, many of which are used in the Thor movies, in a way that flows easily and is easily understood. This is a book that is dangerous in the sense that once you pick it up, you will not put it down until you have read the very last past. It is a book that you can read time and time again. 

  1. The Last Juror by John Grisham

The Last Juror was the first book I read by popular author, John Grisham. Like The Second Time Around, this book’s main character is a journalist. I enjoy books that use this angle since the reader is unfolding mysteries alongside the protagonist. John Grisham is a phenomenal author and I would highly recommend any of his books if you are currently in a reading slump. As someone who has read books predominately in the young adult genre, Grisham has facilitated my shift into stories targeted at an older audience. John Grisham’s novels all have overarching themes of law and order. 

  1. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Unbroken is a book you go into cautiously. It is impossible to read the entire story with dry eyes. This novel follows an Olympic athlete turned World War II soldier. With brutally graphic details of war, starvation, and torture, this is not the story for sensitive readers. For those who can handle the mature content and enjoy history, it is a book that is a must read. The writing is beautiful and reads as a respectful recollection of Louis “Louie” Zamperini’s life story. 

What was your favorite book that you read in 2022? Comment any book recommendations below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s